South Florida Chapter of US Lacrosse Honors Season’s Best

Saturday night FAU’s stadium served not only as the site of a thrilling Florida Launch come from behind 15-14 win over the The New York Lizards, but also as the host for this year’s South Florida Chapter of US Lacrosse awards banquet.  As far as I am concerned, every chapter in the state should try to replicate this great way to celebrate its season, whether locally or better yet, coordinated with a trip to Boca Raton for the night when the Launch is in town.  The staff at the Launch, headed by Brian and Don Clinton, Michael Zeff and others put on a terrific evening and are doing a ton of community outreach (check out the photos at the bottom of this article to see an example).  The Launch management is building a great franchise.

Thank you to everyone, including emcees Joe Chiarella, Eileen Pliske and Beth Donovan.  The hard work you and others put in made for a special evening for those in attendance.

As I have written before it is fantastic to see the friendly interaction between rival coaches and players and the good which is the byproduct of this evening.  In addition, it was a pleasure to hear about these fantastic young women and men.  Honored were all-americans, academic all-americans who finished as valedictorians, salutatorians and top ten (not percent, but the actual number) of substantially sized schools, coaches of the year and the Bob Scott and Jackie Pitts recipients which highlighted the best of our Florida young lacrosse players who gave back generously to the community.  I was incredibly impressed, and I know these achievers are representative of many players throughout the state.   A few familiar faces were missing due to scheduling conflicts, but quite frankly the “pinch hitting” by assistant coaches, and in some cases opposing coaches, to present the players honored,  was special in its own right.

One editorial note:  St. Thomas Aquinas Coach of the Year Samantha Maccurdy is one of our own, having played at Vero Beach before a career at Presbyterian College.  Our growth as a state is taking on a new level and it’s only upward and onward from here!

Coach Terry Crowley with All-Americans Jimmy Harrington, Kevin Crowley and Joey Guglielmo of St. Thomas Aquinas
Coach Andrew Bolger with Ryan Haag and Stephen Brower of Saint John Paul II
Jupiter’s Michael Dean presented by Taravella coach Joe Chiarella
Benjamin’s Christian Cropp and Griffin Bowie flank Coach Aaron Flood
Max Buckner and Coach Ryan Burton of Stoneman Douglas
Caeley Reever of Boca Raton and Coach Beth Donovan of Cardinal Newman
Bob Scott honoree Austin Cavallo of Palm Beach Central with Dottie Demartino
Spencer Dobkin and Coach Mark Spennacchio of Boca Raton High School
Coaches of the Year Beth Donovan of Cardinal Newman and Samantha Maccurdy of St. Thomas Aquinas
Jackie Pitts Honoree Tammy Hutchinson of Cardinal Newman with her coach, Beth Donovan
Emma Braden of St. Andrew’s with Pine Crest Coach Eileen Pliske
Pine Crest’s Sofia Caro and Coach Eileen Pliske
Boca Raton’s Zach Frey and Coach Mark Spennacchio
Terrell Seabrooks, Coach Gordon Woelper and Christian Tomei from Oxbridge
Morgan Lusk, Gabriella Ramsey, Kacey Geddis and Coach Samantha Maccurdy of St. Thomas Aquinas


The full list of honorees, congratulations to all:


South Atlantic North Region

All- American

Kristen Zenor – 2018 – American Heritage Boca Delray

Caitlyn Wurzburger – 2020 – American Heritage Boca Delray

Kylie Kempe – 2018 – The Benjamin School

Kaitlyn Trainor – 2019 – Saint John Paul II Academy

Lauren Mazzamaro – 2018 – Spanish River HS

All- Academic

Emma Braden – St. Andrew’s School

Lizzie Lynch – Spanish River HS

Carolyn Rose –  The Benjamin School

Caeley Reever – Boca Raton High School

Nina Houri –  The Benjamin School

Jackie Pitts Award: Tammy Hutchison – 2017- Cardinal Newman HS

Coach of the year: Beth Donovan – Cardinal Newman HS

South Atlantic Region:


Tara Shecter – Pine Crest School

Erin Bakes – Ransom Everglades

Morgan Lusk – St. Thomas Aquinas

Ali Beekhuizen – St. Thomas Aquinas

Carley Steinlauf – St. Thomas Aquinas


Morgan Lusk – St. Thomas Aquinas

Kasey Geddis – St. Thomas Aquinas

Gabriela Ramsey – St. Thomas Aquinas

Sofia Caro – Pine Crest School

Abby Wolk – Stoneman Douglas HS

Jackie Pitts Award

Kasey Geddis – St. Thomas Aquinas

Coach of the Year

Samantha Maccurdy – St. Thomas Aquinas



Griffin Bowie – 2017 – Benjamin

Terrell Seabrooks – 2017 – Oxbridge

Jimmy Harrington – 2017 – St. Thomas Aquinas

Joey Guglielmo – 2017 – St. Thomas Aquinas

Kevin Crowley – 2017 – St. Thomas Aquinas

Christian Tomei – 2019 – Oxbridge

Chritan Cropp – 2017 – Benjamin

Max Buckner – 2017 – Stoneman Douglas

Nick Iznaga – 2017 – St. Andrew’s

Zach Frey – 2017 – Boca Raton

Michael Dean – 2017 – Jupiter


Academic All-American

Owen Bezick – 2017 – St. Andrew’s

Mark Heatzig – 2017 – St. Andrew’s

Stephen Brower – 2018 – Saint John Paul II

Ryan Haag – 2018 – Saint John Paul II

Spencer Dobkin – 2017 – Boca Raton

Ryan Fiedler – 2017 – Pine Crest

Adres Soto – 2017 – Pine Crest

Ryan Finvarb – 2017- Miami Country Day

Reid Quattlebaum – 2017 – William T Dwyer

Will Ross – 2017 – Martin County

Joseph Weisberg – 2017 – American Heritage Plantation

Finishing up about the Florida Launch, two club teams, Extreme and Ninja Lax, played a spirited half-time game and I enjoyed a front row seat.  You, too, can arrange for your young players to play on the same field as the pros.


That’s Winter Park’s Sergio Salcido congratulating Connor Buczek and Ryan Drenner for the assist and goal respectively
(Visited 243 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Reply