US Lacrosse South Florida Team Named for National Championships


Congratulations to the girls who will represent the US Lacrosse South Florida National Team at Yale University May 26-28 for the Women’s National Tournament.  The girls are coached by Mike Skonieczki, Head Coach of St. Andrews, Eileen Pliske, Head Coach of Pine Crest and former Wellington High School and Cornell great, Claire Poza.  Based on last year’s success, they were placed in Pool A of the Tuscarora Division and will open up against Northern California, Philadelphia and D.C.-Metro.

Coach Skonieczki noted “This is the 85th Year for the US Lacrosse National Tournament. It’s the oldest tournament in all of Girls Lacrosse! Last year, we went 4-0 and won the division tournament. I was very proud last year at Lehigh University.  This year, we probably have a faster and more athletic team. This is a highly talented group and this can be a special team in my mind.”



The following girls were selected:


Erin Bakes – Ransom Everglades

Jenna Byrne – Benjamin School

Allegra Catalano – Am. Heritage Delray

Kelly Denes – Cardinal Newman

Molly Erneston – The Kings Academy

Bridget Funk – Vero Beach High School

Kylie Kempe – Benjamin School

Megan Mangines – Am. Heritage Delray

Kaitlyn Michaud –  St. Thomas Aquinas

Taylor Mullen – St. Andrews

Chloe Provenzano – Am. Heritage Delray

Ellie Riegner – St. Thomas Aquinas

Sophia Savaglio – St. Thomas Aquinas

Ali Savidge – Benjamin School

Tara Schecter – Pine Crest

Kennady Smith – Pine Crest

Caroline Stefans – St. Thomas Aquinas

Caarly Steinlauf – St. Thomas Aquinas

Katelyn Trainor – St. John Paul II

Ashley Turner – Benjamin School

Caitlyn Wurzburger – Am. Heritage Delray

Kristen Zenor – Am. Heritage Delray



Here are the Girls’ college commitments at this point:


Tara Shecter – Princeton University

Caitlyn Wurzburger – Syracuse University

Allegera Catalano – Louisville University

Kylie Kempe – Johns Hopkins

Carly Steinlauf – Johns Hopkins

Jenna Byrne – Rutgers University

Ashley Turner – Ohio State University

Kennady Smith – Boston University

Molly Erneston – Ohio State University

Kristen Zenor – Fresno State

Katie Trainor – Fresno State

Taylor Mullen – University of Vermont

Erin Bakes – University of Southern California



Some of the chosen players gave us a comment!


“I’m honored to play on the South Florida national team this year and to be able to represent the area of south Florida that I have grown up in. I cannot wait to play with this incredibly talented group of girls and to be coached by Coach Pliske and Coach Skonieczki” – Caitlyn Wurzburger

It’s such an honor to be selected for this team for my third year. It’s definitely one of my favorite tournaments! I’m so excited for this year because I think that the group is very talented and very strong and I think that we will be very successful!” – Tara Shecter

“This is such a great group of girls. I played on the team last year that went 4-0 and I can’t wait for this year at Yale University coming up in 3 weeks! It’s an overall phenomenal experience at the US National Tournament” – Carly Steinlauf


Good luck girls!  Continue Florida’s march to the nation’s elite!


(Visited 186 times, 2 visits today)