UF: Hicklen and Stevens Added to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

via press release – photo via UF web site


GAINESVILLE, Fla. – University of Florida women’s lacrosse players Haley Hicklenand Mollie Stevens have been added to the Tewaaraton Award Watch List, as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Thursday.

In her first season as a starter, sophomore Haley Hicklen has been dominant in the cage, logging over 400 minutes and three complete games for Florida. Hicklen has posted 62 saves and a .484 save percentage on the season, which ranks 21st and 28th in the NCAA, respectively.

After playing in just 25 games in her career, Hicklen ranks first all-time at Florida with a .519 save percentage, second with 4.96 saves per game, third with a 7.78 goals against average, and fourth with 124 saves.

Attacker Mollie Stevens has put together an extremely well-rounded senior campaign. In seven games, Stevens has compiled 23 goals (.622), four assists, 18 ground balls, 11 caused turnovers, and 44 draw controls. Against Jacksonville on Feb. 27, Stevens set a Florida single-game record by winning 11 draw controls.

Stevens ranks in the top-eight all-time at Florida in the following categories: points (8th, 141), goals (6th, 123), and draw controls (6th, 94).

Hicklen and Stevens joined teammates Taylor Bresnahan, Sammi Burgess, Caroline Fitzgerald, Shayna Pirreca and Lindsey Ronbeck on the Tewaaraton Award Watch List. Overall, Florida has now had 13 Tewaaraton nominees and four finalists in the eight-year history of the program.


Haley Hicklen Nominee* 2017
Mollie Stevens Nominee* 2017
Taylor Bresnahan Nominee 2017
Sammi Burgess Nominee 2017
Caroline Fitzgerald Nominee 2017
Shayna Pirreca Nominee 2017
Lindsey Ronbeck Nominee 2017
Nicole Graziano Finalist 2016
Caroline Fitzgerald Top-25 Nominee 2016
Mollie Stevens Nominee 2016
Shannon Gilroy Finalist 2015
Nora Barry Nominee 2015
Shannon Gilroy Finalist 2014
Kitty Cullen Nominee 2013
Brittany Dashiell Nominee 2013
Shannon Gilroy Nominee 2013
Mikey Meagher Finalist 2013
Kitty Cullen Nominee 2012
Brittany Dashiell Finalist 2012
Kitty Cullen Nominee 2011

* First round of additions

Additions to the watch list will be added on April 6. On April 27, a list of Top-25 Nominees will be released. Five finalists will be announced on May 11, with the Tewaaraton Ceremony set for June 1 in Washington, D.C.

Follow the Gators



(Visited 19 times, 1 visits today)